‘knickers’ to cancer

No, I’m not advocating the auctioning of underwear for cancer charities. This is my chosen response whenever someone mentions cancer (unless of course they are referring to the fine astrological sign.) Nine times out of ten, I have to say it silently, for fear of being tarred and feathered. I’m presuming most people remember that old fashioned expletive ‘knickers’ from the days of Morecombe & Wise & the like – uttered loudly & irreverently.

It seems to me that we are living in a world where all the bases are covered by some form of ‘terrorism’. Step out into the world and you run the risk of being annihilated by some heretofore unknown group of dedicated & strategically brilliant fanatics. You’re not safe at home either, for lurking there behind every organ in your body is the dreaded inner terrorist ‘El Cancer’.

I reject cancer & I reject the hype & ‘specialness’ that has been carefully cultivated behind it. As a human being, I receive daily programming, in one form or another, that this disease is basically a fait accompli for me or someone I love.

While researching on the Internet today I found this sentence – ‘I’m the first among our friends to have cancer…’, aaahhhh, what future do we have if we talk like that, life becomes an episode of Midsomer Murders – who’s next?

Well bollocks to that.

For the rest of this article I will refer to the above mentioned disease as ‘knickers’ (except when used as a book or article title – for the sake of clarity.)

Let me say I have no disrespect for people who are suffering from this, or any disease, quite, quite, quite the opposite, I abhor suffering. My personal wish is that the truth about this disease be brought to light, that its causes be acknowledged & removed. But that’s not going to happen while ‘knickers’ is talked of in hushed & awed tones and left in the hands of pharmaceutical bank accounts.

My personal irreverence with the disease began when I started to get the feel that I wasn’t a proper woman, if I hadn’t developed breast knickers. Everywhere I turned there were magazine article’s, books, movies, even personalised car licence plates. The media had found a new best seller, ‘the pain and disfigurement of women’. Combined with this, was my first & only mammogram, from which I have never felt quite the same again. What a horrible process.
My quip, when I can get away with it, is one lump or two. I just refuse to be railroaded.

Dr Toni Jeffrey’s is a NZ doctor who wrote a timely book called ‘Cancer Conspiracy.’ She claims that research shows women who have mammograms are 6 times more likely to get breast knickers than those who don’t have them. She also objectively points out they do find one woman in a thousand who does have knickers .
Women aged 40 – 69 in NZ are urged to have yearly mammograms which are provided free of charge – the risk is a non-optional extra that is not mentioned.

The article below though some years old now, has some interesting comments and in particular mentions how an awareness campaign, was founded, marketed & solely financed by a leading pharmaceutical company.
http://www.motherjones.com/news/feature/1994/05/paulsen2.html

The daffodil has become synonymous with knickers over the past 50 years. I have often thought that it a shame, that a lovely flower be conscripted into service as a symbol of disease. The official explanation is that it is a symbol of ‘hope’, that awful word that alludes more to helplessness than bright futures. I suggest that what is needed is a symbol of health & vitality.

Daffodils have a chequered history, but what is not commonly known is their long association with grief & death. In Greek Myth, the world is changed forever when Hades, bursts forth from the Underworld & abducts Persephone as she reaches to pick a daffodil. This event brings winter to the earth, as her mother Demeter, Goddess of the harvest, refuses, in her grief to let anything grow.
Robert Herrick, in Hesperides (1648) alludes to daffodils as a portent of death.
Narcissus (the botanical name for the genus that includes daffodils) was a beautiful youth who fell in love with his own reflection and pined away until he died of sorrow. The Gods took pity on him and turned him into his namesake flower.

The name Narcissus, derives from the Greek ‘narke’, meaning deep sleep or numbness, (from which comes the word ‘narcotic’) and refers to the belief at the time that the flower’s scent produced a death-like sleep.

The Greeks planted daffodil bulbs near tombs and in Victorian times daffodils were also depicted on headstones. They had a number of meanings, among them was death of youth.
http://www.vintageviews.org/vv-tl/Photos/MtHope/Sym0061.html

More recently, the daffodil has again been conscripted as a symbol, this time for 9/11.
http://www.livingmemorialsproject.net/registry_results.asp?myID=94200391033AM_9748

And again for AIDS
http://www.ithaca.edu/news/release.php?id=2025

When daffodils appear in spring they are as Wordsworth so eloquently put it ‘continuous as the stars that shine’. Is it possible that instead of seeing Spring flowers, we are being subliminally conditioned to focus on a symbol of suffering, illness &, death. Never underestimate the power of symbolism, it is the desktop icon of the western world.

In the natural world, the coming of the daffodil has heralded the coming of Spring. In NZ Daffodil Day is a booming industry. Everywhere daffs are on sale in their hundreds. The plastic versions are just as plentiful and hell hath no disdain like those of knicker sellers to whom one hath not donated. Everyone is doing their bit. But their bit of what – it comes down making as many people as possible focus on, or raise money for what is basically a man-made disease.

We live in a toxic world. We are polluted daily through what we eat, drink, breathe and have our being in. We are subjected to manufactured stresses created through the media, overwork and our removal from nature. We are human beings forced into the mould of a machine.
Of course there is knickers, and many other diseases to boot.

In the best traditions of the western world, millions of dollars have been spent developing weapons of mass destruction for the war on knickers, what about the why of knickers. I’ll back the cleaners at the knicker research institutes any day over the researchers.

Our immune systems, in proper working order are our elixir of life. Our natural state of health is to be healthy. Driving home from work today, I looked at the trees, I saw nature giving the purest directive. Everywhere the trees were ‘going for it’, even the ones that have taken a beating at one time or another were still going for it and not one of them was ‘raising awareness’, they’re too bloody busy living, which is what you, my friend, should be doing instead of reading about knickers :)

March 14, 2008. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Ben Emlyn-Jones replied:

    That’s the spirit! Laugh in the face of something we’re supposed to FEAR! I like your irreverance for the dreaded C-word! I’ve read a lot lately about how so many alternatives exist to the conventional CIOAPTS (Cut-it-off-and-poison-the-stump) method that nearly all modern oncologists use: Gerson therapy, Simoncini treatment the list goes on! All this has been supressed by the medical establishement and Big Pharma (the same thing in fact!) When a lie on this scale finally comes out… WHEW! I read a wonderful book called “Grace and Grit” by Ken Wilber. He’s a philosopher who’s books I’ve been reading for a while, but this one is his best by far. It tells the story of his wife’s death from cancer. But it’s a happy rather than sad story.

  2. wise woman replied:

    Thanks BenI was hoping my post would be seen in this light. I felt very strongly it needed to be written.

  3. Ben Emlyn-Jones replied:

    Yes it does indeed. The real danger of cancer is not the disease itself so much, but its mass perception. It exists through the FEAR we have for it; from our belief that it is incurable and often fatal. We’re told that CIOAPTS is our only hope and if that doesn’t work, call the undertaker now! FEAR like that is the glue that binds us to the authorities, our depecdnace on the medical establishment and Big Pharma. By looking at “knickers” with such irreverent humour you are carrying out a revolutionary act! Nice one!

  4. marmitelover@mac.com replied:

    hi wisewoman, quite nice to see a female on the conspiraloon circuit… so rare… i wonder why?Anway I don’t believe in cancer and I never give to cancer charities.If I got it I wouldnt fight it, I’d just succumb I hope.I did photograph a woman who was diagnosed with breast cancer. My portrait session with her was 12 years later ( a jupiter cycle) and she was still going strong. She managed this with a combination of raw foods and pretending it didn’t exist. Seemed to do the trick!

  5. wise woman replied:

    Hi marmite loverYes not a lot of women, I feel I undersatnd why (& it’s a multi level thing) but don’t know if I could put into words. I must admit a similar comment by Ellis Taylor in his new book spurred me on a bit faster, but it was a direction I was going in anyway. Thanks for your comment (and I wish you a knicker free future).

  6. annemarie replied:

    This piece is great :) Irreverent too. And irreverent is good and health inducing, like humour. Besides it sure beats the faith, whorship and blind obedience that many people render to the gods and goddesses of the medical establishment. Not me sister. Haven’t had a thorough physical, including breast exam or mammo (never had one of those btw), or pap smear in over 12 years. Not since ’96 according to my physician’s records. ha,ha Went there recently due to having a mild outer ear infection (now seems to be cleared up), and the nurse harangued me the entire visit for not coming in before and regularly. And especially for missing all those pap smears. I told her that I didn’t actually “miss” them. But she didn’t find that funny. So I explained that since I’m in great health –meaning I feel great, have a good appetite, and have oodles of energy– and excepting this ear ache, I have no complaints and thus no need for check-ups, especially those invasive pap smears and those hideous, breast-squishing mammos. Well, she looked at me like I was from another planet. But I don’t care. It’s my body, my health, my life. She insisted at least 3 times that I should come in at least for a pap smear, mentioned the hpv virus…to which I said “I don’t believe in that.” Oh, oh. You should have seen her face! Then she said, “You know cervical cancer is treatable if it’s detected EARLY.” I so wanted to say, “So is brainwashing.” But I kinda had a feeling that it wouldn’t go over that well… So I mentioned to her that I’ve recently gone through menopause (about 1 year now) without any problems and none of the common symptoms –e.g. flashes, excessively dry skin and whatever else some women are dealing with– and she seemed to not even hear me so obsessed was she with trying to get me to agree to go in for a pap. Funny isn’t it, you’d think that a nurse, a young woman might be just a little curious about how come I’m breezing through menopause while so many other women are suffering through it? But no. Not an iota’s worth of curiosity.btw, part of it is due to beans I believe. We’ve got a diet really high in beans, legumes, and whole grains. Apparently there’s something in the beans that helps regulate something to do with the hormonal changes. And that women in places where the diets are rich in beans and legumes don’t typically experience menopause in the same (awful) way that western women often do. At least that’s what I’d read a few years ago. And so far, so good.Modern (western) medicine or what passes for health care is mostly a disgrace. And modern cancer treatments of slash, cut and burn (surgery and chemo) are hideously medieval. Give me wholistic and naturopathic health care any day. Especially getting to the root cause of a problem, instead of always treating only symptoms post facto. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure?Anyhow, it was a great post. Thanks for it.

    • suliwebster replied:

      The mam and pap tests are mama and papa. Mammary breasts to feed milk. Papa’s job is to put is dick in the vagina like the pap smear test does. It is basically sex with a metal instrument. Papa is papal. The Pope always presides over sexual things, copulation and population, pope.ulation.
      Who makes up these names ?

  7. marmitelover@mac.com replied:

    Anne…I so totally agree with you…relief to hear other women feel the same way I do…enough with the invasive and necessary testing!

  8. wise woman replied:

    ah… wise words from wise women. Actually I’m going to the doctor myself on Wednesday (a very rare visit) & I know I’m going to get harangued – we’re being force fed the idea that ‘women’s bits’ are disease magnets – well bollocks to them. I have a theory that breasts are like some sort of power pack – an extra energy source & something spritual at that, that’s why they’re such a target for the establishment or portrayed as playthings for playboys. They hold no sacred view, not in the western world anyway.

  9. marmitelover@mac.com replied:

    Breasts are power packs LOL yes we are all Wonder women…

  10. Michael Skaggs replied:

    I missed this awesome write up the first time??? Glad you posted that little “re-visited” spot so I could read this!Well done, and I love the energy behind this piece! Thank you!!The modern medicine “we” receive is different from the modern medicine our “world leaders” and “bloodline” families receive.Peace Wise!

  11. marmitelover@mac.com replied:

    ‘What doctors don’t tell you’ is an interesting alternative view medical newsletter from Lynn McTaggart who wrote The Field. http://www.wddty.com/03363800372395610091/cancer-family-doctors-just-don-t-see-it.html

  12. annemarie replied:

    Coupla’ things to add to this thread since you re-posted it…That outer ear infection which I mentioned in my earlier post here, and which was diagnosed by not one, but TWO medical “experts”, one an MD, the other an RN, well I took both of their RXs, specifically the ear drops which they each prescribed, and neither RX worked. Months later, still bothered by an ongoing, nagging and irritating leaky ear I came across a book I have called Honey, Garlic & Vinegar- Home Remedies and Recipes by Dr. (as in PhD, RD, CNS not MD btw) Patrick Quillin, and in it I found a remedy for swimmers ear and similar general infections. It recommended equal parts apple cider vinegar combined with rubbing alcohol. Said that it prevents fungal and bacterial growths. And guess what? Yup, I’m so happy and relieved to say that it worked. Nature’s way is best, yet again! Wish I’d remembered to consult this book a year ago. The other thing about modern cancer treatment is that it can be summed up in three words: butcher, burn, and bury. And if that process isn’t retarded, backwards, and med-i-evil I just don’t know what is. take care,

  13. wise woman replied:

    Hi sorry I didn’t realise anyone had left comments hereMichaelThanks – I never thought of that about the elite getting different medicine to us – but that really rings true.Marmite loverMany thanks I will check that out.AnnemarieYep, it’s a real shame we’ve lost the traditional & natural healing methods – if only we could remember how to communicate with plants & animals – I’m sue we did once – they would have much to tell us. And as to ‘knickers’ – the treatments are barbaric – in an earlier era they’d be used as torture.Thanks all.

  14. suliwebster replied:

    I did not know about the death history of the daffodil….
    My own research shows that the daffodil is the yellow six pointed star of David. The Jews of World War two wore this star on their armband labelled JUDE (reminds me of Beatles song).
    In Wales, the name David is Daffyd. the Daffodil is the symbol of Wales. St Davids City in Wales is the smallest city in Britain, and sounds somewhat biblical to me.
    St David is the patron saint of Wales. Wales is always the ignored country out of the four of the United kingdom. I think George of England slayed the dragon of Wales.
    A church in Georgian Bath has the symbol of the daffodil as a giant stone window. The church is Roman Catholic, St Johns, by the river, and has the tallest spire, taller than the Abbey.
    The daffodil is seen everywhere in England these days as part of Marie Curie Cancer care charity. If you are a caring person you wear the daffodil to tell everyone you care, and you are kind and not evil, and the evils of the world are nothing to do with you. Carry on Caring, and carry on with the cause of cancer.
    Maybe it is narcissism that causes cancer? The society of the Western world is a giant narcissistic psychopathic being that actually cares only about its own survival.
    Then there are the Davidic Kings. David Camera On being one. David is also DVD, on film. Very narcissistic, all this filming, posing for the camera stuff.

  15. Mick replied:

    Speaking of Never Mentioned Wales:

    Modern Wales is an Anglo-Saxon/Norman-Norse invention.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

