knickers re-visited

I was at my martial arts class earlier this evening & there was a bit of chit chat before we got underway.

Into this chit chat the trigger word ‘cancer’ reared it’s all to hypnotic head – it seems that yet another member of the human race has succumbed. The news was received in the hushed reverence that I have come to despise & the word ‘chemo’ set off the understanding nods that now greet it wherever it’s toxic little name is mentioned. In keeping with my original post on this topic I silently murmured my own incantation of ‘knickers’ in the hope that some of the poison might be diluted.

This is the second time in a couple of days I’ve heard of someone being placed on this particular ‘death row’ & I’m concerned at the level of acceptance & head nodding that greets it’s uninvited & unwelcome presence.

If I hadn’t already written an article on this topic I would be doing so now – but seeing as it is already a fait accompli & because I felt a strong urge to re-present it – I’m posting it here.
One point I forgot to mention when I wrote that article was that I checked out the library to see how many books there were for & against cancer – the day I was there, there were 33 books about living with & accepting cancer & 1 lone volume daring to question it – I don’t like those odds so I hope you’ll join me in saying ‘knickers’ to cancer.

http://toolonginthisplace.blogspot.com/2008/02/knickers-to-cancer.html

July 7, 2008. Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. aferrismoon replied:

    Perhaps Knickerbockers will help kick into touch.It does develop from the word ‘carcer’ as in incarcerate, and canker is the pronunciation for the doggie disease, though I feel pronouncing it wrongly will get one accused of a ‘lack of compassion’.Half the treatments seem to be what Insurance companies are prepared to pay for., or perhaps I’m just being cynical.KNickers to u & Knickers to me But most of all – knickersTo the so-called Big C

  2. Ben Emlyn-Jones replied:

    WW, I remember that “knickers” article well. Have you managed to get hold of “Grace and Grit” yet?

  3. wise woman replied:

    Hi AferrismoonThanks for that – loved it. It’s just a huge & very nasty ‘business’that needs a good k(n)ick in the ass & yes we are so controlled by the fear of being accused of a ‘lack of compassion’ – I certainly did not have the courage to say my thoughts out loud last night – the whole idea has been sold & sewn up good & tight – well knickers to it.Hi BenNo I haven’t read that, but I remember & appreciate your comments when I first wrote the article – I was a bit nervous about how it would be taken – so thanks again for that.

  4. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Wise! Thanks for the quick reminder about your original knickers piece.I know, lack of compassion my left knicker! I did however stop donating to major “research” centers (i.e. cancer foundations, etc.) since they have no intention of ever releasing the cause nor cure to the “useless eaters” of the planet. Big Pharmacom is just another big piece of the puzzle.Checkout my latest quick piece, the BBC’s Biotech Revolution revealed much in this insane big pharm world…Peace my friend.

  5. wise woman replied:

    Hiya MichaelWould you believe I’ve just been to my local mall & they’ve put up a ‘breast screen’ stand -‘knickers’ to them – anyway more like breast scream. I get so annoyed & then I can’t seem to speak English anymore, so I go quiet – thank god for the slow thought process medium of blogging & a few people willing to let me vent!

  6. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Well, venting in the blogs is as you said a kind of therapy right? Why not, I do it all the time, and sometimes our “venting rants” aid with just as much insights as the researched posts. :) Vent on!Be well hun.

  7. celticrebel replied:

    A 33:1 ratio!!! Coincidentally, found 33 messages in my inbox today before I read this.Your “dOCTOr” comment is pushing me into writing on the topic. Some FOOL was arguing with me today that there would be a cure for knickers within the next five years.Knickers … I … uh, never mind :-)

  8. wise woman replied:

    Thanks MichaelYeah I really enjoy bloggers rants – I get to see some of the person behind the words & feel their energy too & I think we all need that & yes wonderful things can out ‘by accident’.Hi Mr Rebel33:1 synch – very interesting. I’ll look forward to what you have to say re the doctor.The only way they’re going to allow a cure for cancer is if they come up with something deadlier & it comes with a higher price ticket. Those with natural cures are hounded out of their countries & sometimes to death. But maybe we can create a cure with an attitude of ‘knickers’ or such like…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

