A quote for you


This quote popped into my lap yesterday.

I wrote an article a while ago called Serious Play – so I could not let this slip by without posting it.

Being female I might get slightly irked by the lack of female pronouns, but then I am reminded that the etymology of the word man is thus man (n.) O.E. man, mann “human being, person“.

What’s more I am reminded that the use of the word ‘man’ to distinguish the lovely male of the species is a newer addition – originally both sexes had their own designations – werman for man & wifman for womanO.E. used wer and wif to distinguish the sexes, but wer began to disappear late 13c. and was replaced by man

So with that little befriending & harmonising of the sexes, it is my great pleasure to introduce the following quote & hope that it may befriend you this year.

Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play”

May you always have play in your life.

January 5, 2009. Uncategorized.

13 Comments

  1. Devin replied:

    Beautiful thought wise! I hope you are having a great day. Best to you and yours as always!

  2. wise woman replied:

    Hi DevinGlad you enjoyed :) 'Tis a warm & sunny evening here, am looking forward to a walk a little later.All the best

  3. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Sounds like a great idea!Perhaps when we shed this man-made trap of “time keeping”? I want a whole day of play, and then some!Thanks for the reminder!Have a playful evening my friend.Cheers

  4. wise woman replied:

    Hiya MichaelGood to see you back in action :)Oh yes I think we've got a lot of catching up on play to do – imagine if that was the answer to the woes of the world!Ben at HPANWO did a post recently about the soldiers in WWI who downed weapons for a game of football one Christmas – any sane human would do the same. When I was a kid I broke my thumb & I must admit I used it as a bit of an excuse to get some attention ('twas a bit in short supply at home). It was during school & I somewhat proudly told the teacher I couldn't go swimming because of it – whereupon I received probably 5 seconds of symapthy & interest. After about 10 minutes of agony of watching all the other kids having fun in the pool, I explained to the teacher it would probably be all right actually & got changed & into that pool fatser than a speeding rabbit! The call to play was just too strong – have never forgotten the 'feel' of that event.Hope you have a marvellously playful day too.

  5. VacuumVixen replied:

    WW,Very nice… and timely to boot. I’ve been seriously funk-i-fied, trying to remember what fun really is. What do you do to “play” in the midst of your truth seeking?

  6. wise woman replied:

    Playful greetings to you VixenI'm no expert on play – I know that as I grew up I lost something very precious when I lost my connection to play. It is one of the truths I am seeking to reconnect with.I would have to say though that a great deal of my fun these days comes from my 'truth-seeking' – when intuitions & insights come through, I leap on them like a kid & have a wild ride seeing where they lead. Also I feel so much more alive when communicating with fellow wonderers, there is a richness to the connection that I do not find in 'acceptable' conversation – the sharing of 'outragoeus' ideas is a joy. Another thing I have used when I get stuck is doing something scary – either a bit or a lot scary, it seems to jolt me out of apathy.I've just come back from a trip to Perth which was scary for me because I was going to stay with someone I'd only met via email & didn't have any money in the bank to cover the cost, I actually got really sick just before hand, but it was great, even if I hadn't got on with my email buddy I knew it would be the mind stretch I was in need of – taking myself away from all that was familiar & taking in so many new sights & sounds & smells – I have come back revitalised & with a great new friendship. It seems to me that sameness is like 'mental concrete' – from what I can see play & sameness just don't mix.Hope you have a splendid day :)

  7. Devin replied:

    wise-thanks so much for stopping by and commenting today-I really appreciate it! The new post is up about questions I have for the new series-but there is absolutely no rush for folks wanting to comment-I am feeling rather tired this evening and there is another short one or two post series on the paranormal I wanted to do and will probably start work on tonight-so there is a lot of stuff i can work on in between-best to you and your as always-this word veri is verrecla-hmmm nothing hits me right off with this:-)

  8. Devin replied:

    wise-just popped by to say ‘hi’ and that I hope you and yours are having a beautiful day-from an earlier phone call today my hands are still shaking with anger so i am going to wait a bit to calm down b4 starting paranormal series this afternoon-it will be short (3-5) posts-but i think folks will enjoy-best as always to you and yours word veri is efegeor-the first thing that popped into my mind was ‘egregore’ :-)

  9. Devin replied:

    wise -thanks again so much for stopping by today-I hope you are having a splendid day also-the new post is up-I thought it would be longer but forgot that I put part of 3 in 2-if I regain any energy later I might go ahead and do 4-it will be a very interesting one to people interested in the case. Best to you and yours as always!

  10. wise woman replied:

    Hi DevinI hope your day is a delight. Have been for a visit to My Favourite Monsters this morning :)All the best

  11. Devin replied:

    wise-I bascically just wanted to come over here today and tell you how much I appreciate your support and thoughtfulness! It just occurred to me some minutes ago that it is already Sat in NZ-it is 830pm friday here now and I wanted to wish you and your son and family a wonderful weekend! this word veri is heporin-right off heperin came to mind do not know if i misspelled that-there were suspicions that Stalin’s and other Soviet and east bloc leaders were helped into the grave if this is the blood thinning medication i am thinking about-would not surprise me at all if other world, financial,military leaders etc have had a little help getting to the other side with various meds that can mimic heart conditions.best to you as always!

  12. wise woman replied:

    Hi DevinNice to see you (in words) again.It is indeed Saturday – 6.11pm as I write this – so about 8pm I think with you now.Ah yes I wonder just how many have been helped along to the grave once they have assisted in re-directing the flow of the world – mind you it wouldn't surprise me if they come back for simliar repeat performances as similar bastards or demi-gods in future lives. I wonder if they swap roles or just keep to their area of 'expertise'?Have been working away at a new, long – ie good for insomniacs :) article & hope to have it up today, or if not tomorrow.I hope your day was playful.All the best to you & many thanks for dropping by – I was feeling a bit jaded & in need of a friendly face :)

  13. Devin replied:

    well wise-since you do not seem to mind a friendly face I will comment yet again! When i saw the insomnia remark i was so reminded of my own situation-i awoke very late today and was wondering if i should stay awake all night to rebalance sched-havent decided yet-i have just had the puter on standby for a bit and was also trying to work on new things-very clumsy so far-i find your thoughts on the bastards coming back very interesting-as it leads to yours and mines comments back and forth about the whys etc of reincarnation if it does indeed occur-i cannot wait to see your new post! obviously i am not saying this to rush you -i just find your posts so from the heart and original-i think you and other synchro people have great originality in your work-and the hard work you do and the size of your hearts and souls really comes through-especially when you comment and post-you must really come from a great and intelligent family tree-i so hope your son goes into something involving creativity also when he is older-even now-but what am i his ‘life coach’? i just hate to see so many creative and ‘heart’ based people shoved into jobs they hate because of the materialistic spirit of our age-it has been a pretty good day-not getting much done-but i feel much better than when i first woke-please do not let this comment distract you-i am trying to do the same-i have so many things going at once-i wonder if i should start another blog with only certain things in it like my writing and subjects of the paranormal-or do the reverse and keep MFM with my writing-poetry and paranormal studies and start the new blog with the long studies of history-reincarnation and various philosophies-i so enjoy doing posts about para subjects and i can tell that my new studies of empires etc are going to go very much slower than the H/A series-and MFM is starting to have so many different topics that it is crazy-my ocd factor wants to keep everything in one place-but i am really thinking of doing this because i have a tendency-also ocd related to always want to keep MFM going and i think i lose quality i originally had the first two empire posts done-but have decided to start with a completely different era of history-the more i think about this the better it sounds-move the slower stuff to a different blog and keep mfm going as normal more or less-just a thought-again i cannot wait to see your new work and i can’t put into words how much our online friendship has meant to me! Blessings to you and your family from Arizona! word veri nacksec-hmmm-napsack is all that comes to mind off the bat:-)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

