A foggy day in Auckland

Yesterday I had the spookiest synch I’ve ever had.

I followed a rather fanciful trail & struck a pot of radioactive gold at the end of it. The pot was murder, literally, so not something I got all excited about. Then I got too close to a radio & was further radioactively bombarded, this time with news about Michael Jackson’s death.

I had thought I would be making use of this weekend to continue my current research, but yesterday’s events have rather taken the wind out of my sails. It seems the wind has also been taken out of the ‘City of Sails’ (Auckland) for today we have had a most unusual ongoing fog.

I went out for a walk earlier to clear my head & took my son’s camera with me – apologies for the picture quality, although the batteries are new, the camera suffered water damage on the ark.

These images are from a rather picturesque area called Northcote Point – the point from which our Harbour Bridge arches across the sea before setting down near the city of Auckland.

Peeking out from under the Harbour Bridge & across to today’s fog carpeted city


The outer overhangs of the bridge are know as the ‘Nippon Clip-ons’ – the bridge was built in 1959 with four lanes, which just turned out to be four too few.

The year that man may have landed on the moon, four new lanes landed on our harbour bridge courtesy of Ishikawajima-Harima Industries of Japan – hence the Nipponese terminology.

Below is a view looking out from the opposite side of the bridge…


where a bus waits for ferry passengers


What used to be a very common sight – the corrugated roofs of many a NZ home. This one decorated in the ‘she’ll be right‘ colour shade of whatever paint was found lurking in the garage. The house I live in sports the same elegant shades, though with a little green medley thrown in for extra contrast.

… Well the tree house may have been repossessed, but at least they left the furniture


The green, green grass…


I love things like this – the overhanging branch of this Pohutukawa has been left in place, but a sign has been affixed to it to warn low flying pedestrian heads


An old wooden church. Mostly our houses have always been made of wood, although the new fake cement type is gaining quite a bland foothold.


Something very fishy about this – a War Memorial with a watcher

the letters ‘wtf’ did spring rather hastily to my lips – is this a sign, is Sponge Bob to be the next celebrity sacrifice? And how will they do it? and just what the hell is going on here ??


House with white picket fence


La Ma(i)son (Lodge) with white picket fence


Here is something I’ve never personally come across before – orbs (& loads of them) – I thought I was just taking a pic of a kiwi style house.


There are some faintly visible in this last shot too of the Northcote Tavern (& no it’s not rain).

Thanks for coming walkies with me.

If you’ve been going too hard out on the news over the last couple of days here is a clip to hopefully lighten you up a little – one of my favourite comedians doing ‘Twistory’ -history with a twist.

Here
June 27, 2009. Uncategorized.

9 Comments

  1. Jaspal replied:

    Funny that the first story I read this morning was this:http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/wear/8122092.stm'One person has died and 10 others have been injured in a series of crashes in thick fog on a stretch of the A19 in County Durham.'A look at Google maps shows us where the A19 is:http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=auckland&sll=54.607869,-1.630096&sspn=0.353936,0.88028&ie=UTF8&t=h&radius=17.61&rq=1&ll=54.607869,-1.630096&spn=0.353936,0.88028&z=10Just to the east of Bishop Auckland!Also while listening to the news yesterday, a reporter said, when speaking of the Jackson children, "they were DRILLED HARD by their father", emphasising those two words. An admission of the child abuse they all suffered?Word veri is Unkle!

  2. Alex Robinson replied:

    Hi JaspalThat was rather spooky (& nasty) too! It's still foggy here today & raining to boot.I lived in Sunderland for a while many moons ago & just yesterday was telling my son of a five day fog we had there once.Whatever the truth may be about Michael Jackson, it won't be for our ears – we're just meant to keep supping at the juicy 'flavour enhanced' scraps tossed out from the current media death-fest – IMHOThanks for the info & the maps, I couldn't get the second one to work, but found another.All the very best to you

  3. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Alex,Wonderful refreshing stroll, thanks for the journey! Beautiful shots, and some interesting ones!The Medes are blowing it way out of proportion on the MJ story, MJ's older sister already spilled the beans many years ago in a book about the abusive daddy, which is probably what we will be spoon fed again..ad nauseum! I am trying to stay away from the news, but its even intrusive in My email! Ugh!WV = mingsBe well Alex!Cheers

  4. Alex Robinson replied:

    Hi MichaelGlad you enjoyed the winter stroll :)I don't even like to think of what they're doing to the American public via the mede-ication – perhaps a brisk stroll might be the answer all round!Wv = Ming 'the Merciless' – another name for the media perhaps??All the best my friend

  5. aferrismoon replied:

    Here it's still greu and overcast, daily rain, thanks apparently to a volcano in the Kirul Islands.Nice photos, specially the 1 across the bay to the city.cheers

  6. Alex Robinson replied:

    Hi AferrismoonIt's quite enlightening to try & look through foreign eyes as opposed to the ones I'm so used to using – that's why I took a pic of the bus, such an ordinary thing, but each peculiar to their own locations.I hope things brighten up for you, although overcast days can make colours stand out so brilliantly.All the very best

  7. Devin replied:

    O Alex I love you hahahahahaha:) Is Spongebob Squarepants going to be the next celeb sacrifice?" and looks like a little too much fun in the tub for a kiddie book to me hahahaha:) In all seriousness wonderfulpost as always -beautiful pics too-gosh NZ looks so lovely-hope I can see it someday:)best to you as always!!

  8. Ben Emlyn-Jones replied:

    Cool orbs there, Alex. If you ever get to the Probe Conference I'll have to introduce you to Dennis. I'm glad you said "…MAY have landed on the moon". You've got your head screwed on right there!

  9. Alex Robinson replied:

    Hi DevinSo pleased to give you a laugh & yes I sincerely hope that you will come-a-calling one day SOON!! Love ya too :)Hiya BenGlad to see you're finally getting a break from all your hard work in write-ups! Ellis thought the orbs might be mist, so I haven't ruled that out, altho' I tried to match up the 'orbs' on the last two photos but they seemed different so not sure, keeping an open mind.Yes hopefully the day will come when I ask if you can book an extra seat at the Probe :) or something equally as interesting.All the best to you & I hope Louisa is well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

