S woz tricked here

 

I thought we might just have a little fun
&
questioning.

 

Bending rules.

Seeing sideways.

Hijacking history.

 

Here’s
a
symbol …

that’s been
BRANDED

into
our psyche.

 

Brand … to place indelibly in the memory

 

I’m not a fan
of

… branding.

 

Brand … an identifying mark made, usually by burning, on the skin

… of animals or (formerly) slaves or criminals, esp as a proof of ownership

 

A mark of disgrace or notoriety; a stigma

 

The obama brand has been the most successful brand

 

All the best brands
can be found
on
designer clothes
designer goods
in the best homes
on the best people

ummmm….

ah yes, I see now.

 

Brand establishes that trust instantly

 

… the importance of branding and brand loyalty

 

Brand becomes the most common buzz word in our daily life

Branding is a very powerful component in business. The brand must have a logo to make branding easier

Pharmaceutical companies have started giving importance to branding

A good brand perpetuates itself at all levels. For that to happen it must be different, attractive, and the product must be good …

… Consider the Obama brand. The team was relentless in their consistent reproduction of the brand at every level

So perhaps a little ass kicking
of the
hot iron brandishers
is in order.

 

Is it really ok,
to constantly infest
the human psyche
with
the corporate WORD?


The word “logos” in Greek has an extraordinary range of meanings — the   heart of which is both “meaning” and “reckoning”. Hence, it may refer to a   “word” or a “thought” or a spoken phrase or an idea or that which conveys something which, to the hearer, is meaningful and, thus, can move them.”

How much of the ‘flavour’ of a product resides in its name?

 

What would it be like to mix’em up?

What if you or I couldn’t care less about these ‘brands’?

What if they mean NO-THING to us?

How is it that these squiggles can be treated like an entity, a being?

Why do they have Rights / Rites?

 

 

What if I’m tired …

of being constantly
visually
assaulted
by these corporate words?

Do I have rights?

… Hmmmm
(oops did I just type the McDonald’s sign four times – is that copy-rite theft?)

 

Maybe because I have to enter the working world again tomorrow, I am a bit jaded today.

I was simply supposed to be serving you up some crazy swas-buckling ideas.

I saw something in the swastika awhile back that I thought you might find interesting …

… – it’s about time that symbol was played with.

 

There are soooo many theories & apparent rite & wrong ways to view the swastika that its a veritable joke anyway.

However …

… if you take the non-nazi approach & turn its propellers …

… to the left,

then you may begin to find

replies

to your questions.

 

Look again.

 

What do you see?

 

 

 

Four question marks
(dots added to clear away confusion)

ASK & you shall receive

Is this why we’ve been scared away from that symbol – lest we realise that that which we need comes through our QUESTIONS?

Well its a damn sight less intimidating than the Nazi branding is it not?

And it becomes a tool.

A toy.

Are we really allowed to play with it?

YES

We live in this world dammit & we need access to a whole lot of new ideas to find our way.

 

Reverse your Swastika with the same idea & what do you see?

Come on its your turn …

Why its the letter beloved by the Masons

The
letter
G

 

Some quotes to finish

Christians, like slaves and soldiers, ask no questions” (Please refer to Swastika above – ASK QUESTIONS)

“‘In war,’ answered the weaver, ‘the strong make slaves of the weak, and in peace the rich make slaves of the poor.”

Americans (actually everyone) are so enamored of equality that they would rather be equal in slavery than unequal in freedom.”

The slave of fear: the worst of slaveries

What a curious phenomenon it is that you can get men to die for the liberty of the world who will not make the little sacrifice that is needed to free themselves from their own individual bondage.”

 

January 9, 2011. Uncategorized.

31 Comments

  1. Eleleth replied:

    All the Grail Knight Parsifal had to do was ask the question: “what does this mean”? The Quest is the Question. I am not convinced that everyone wants to know the Answer.

  2. alex robinson replied:

    Thanking you! You made me rethink my words – I’m not a fan of the word ‘answer’ – so I shouldn’t have used it.

    I think when someone is hungry they will begin to question – without the hunger I don’t think we have the ability to digest what comes from our questions. Maybe this is why its so easy to answer other peoples questions – we don’t have to digest the responses ourselves :)

    All the best to you

  3. aferrismoon replied:

    Japanese would call it ‘blanding’.

    Branding the cows backside might be thought of as ‘b-anal’.

    I think its pretty obvious now with most clothes having logos on, which also gets people to advertise for free [ well actually people pay to advertise their cattle-products]

    cheers

  4. alex robinson replied:

    Well put – it IS bland & bAnal & yet damned cunning on the ‘voluntary advertising’ steaks, I mean stakes.

    Where is the wonder of individual creation I wonder?

    I am important if I possess something that someone else, who has been accoladed by the system, has mass produced by a down run section of humanity . These days cattle are ‘tagged’ mostly – humans are smarter cos they have labels

    cheers

  5. Ferdinand replied:

    Great! A swastika can be a Z and a rotated Z to form a ZN, as in zen or zion or nazi. If the actual font characters of Z and N are combined, they form an X-box. Z is 26 (or Fe) and Z+Z=52, the weeks in a year. The S and S of the Nazi party, if combined with the aforementioned ZZ (top), would be a grid of 4 squares.. a window..? Just riffing a bit. I look forward to your show with Rebellious Alex tonight.

    • alex robinson replied:

      Ferdinand – I wanted to say thank you – I read your comment at work yesterday, & it really helped to keep my energy going prior to the show … that … didn’t …happen! It was however much appreciated.

      I liked your thoughts’n’play re the swastika – the NZ you point out also are the initials for my country – New Zealand – I once got quite stressed by someone referring to here as the New Zion & seeming to suggest god knows what – I learned a lot from that episode – mostly about how inportant it is to listen to my gut instinct & WALK AWAY when it tells me to – because it doesn’t show much mercy once you start hearing it – it EXPECTS you to listen & fair enough to, for its the very best ‘eyes’ I have come across.

      Sorry was I rambling? :)

      Thanks & all the best to you

  6. pso replied:

    Hi Alex. Been reading your material for a year now. I am fairly confident I found you through the other Alex -for the sake of newcomers –The Celtic Rebel.

    You have given me a Brand new way at looking through things.

    did you get that?

    ♥bear

    • Mick replied:

      Hey Bear, do you get everywhere?

      Anyways Alex, the swastika always reminded me of a man running with his arms waving madly, or the Milky Way.

      • pso replied:

        What’s up MSG? ;)
        I go to only the places that serve food for thought. like u do…

        I think we are living story books -condensed versions.

        The Final chapter is pretty cool ;)

      • alex robinson replied:

        Hi Mick
        Could well be a mad man – I must admit I see a falling man – albeit headless, in the VW logo. My shower has non-Brand-name imitation marble panels – I’m forever seeing new images in there & so often they mirror what I’m working on at the time.

        All the best

    • alex robinson replied:

      Hi p yes sew
      Glad to see you are cutting & sewing your own cloth – watch out for the labels tho :)

      Yes the Rebel is a good egg in a bad world – we have much to thank him for.

      And much to do ourselves …

      All the best to you

  7. ViolatoR replied:

    Was pondering the Obama brand earlier myself. Anyhoo, have a pic that explains that the Greek letter Gamma/G in it’s uppercase form, (looks like an inverted “L”) repeated four times makes the swastika. Hmm and that reminds me of another pic I have showing several glyphs for the Mayan idea of the galaxy, and they are all “G” shaped. Not sure how accurately translated that is tho.

    • alex robinson replied:

      Greetings your Idleness
      I see what you mean about the gammatria symbol. One of the stars of the Southern Cross or ‘THE underworld constellation’, is Gamma Crux. If you worm out the Mayan pics sometime I’d be interested – no rush, just anytime before 2012 :)

    • Eleleth replied:

      The G = Γ thing is great. According to the Gnostics, LL is really a covert M, as it’s Lambda-Lambda, ΛΛ. Definitely something significant about the Greek language–it’s what God used when he wrote the New Testament, after all…

      • alex robinson replied:

        The idol one speaks many wise words – but he only speaks occasionally :)

  8. brad replied:

    “The intent that you have behind it is more important than what you come up with”
    Those are your words Alex from Kyle’s last podcast and they couldn’t be spoken any better…!

    This article is very spot on and is the very essence of this ‘corporatocracy’ in which we find ourselves…

    I’m not trying to plug myself, but this very topic is what I do to the core…

    This whole ‘branding’ thing has always bugged me on an ego level,
    yet I knew it must be undertaken as it is the way this system works,
    so how can we ‘use it against them?

    It may seem a bit corny at first glance, but it was the best word I could come up with as I didn’t want to just spit forth my name all the time for art that I do,
    I believe we are all ‘beyond our names’…
    to use a word that goes beyond everything we know to be ‘true’…
    of course the word needed to be symbolized, and because symbols do hold energy,
    and we are living in a world where all the main ‘power grabs’ are everywhere,
    let’s just say it is a way to ‘fight back’ for the ‘beauty side’ and hence what I try to incorporate in my artwork by having it out there amongst all the other debauchery going on…
    striving for peace in this world of war…

    I’m tired of anger
    tired of fighting
    tired of sorrow

    I guess what I’m saying is, we need more ‘brands of beauty’,
    which aren’t based on profit, but just honest work, that’s it…

    I can give a rats-ass if someone likes my work or not,
    as I’m sure you can attest,
    it’s the intent behind it all the way…

    • alex robinson replied:

      I’ve seen your work Brad – not just what you do, but how you do it – that is creativity.

      ‘Branding’ from what I can see is about creativity-suicide/murder – letting the spark inside you die while you sell out to something lifeless – anything beautiful & beautified takes time, so much time & so much delicate & powerful attention. If the human beings involved in the creation of an item did not have the chance to become something more in the process, then that brand is something burning & corrosive.

      Keep walking in beauty my friend

  9. RUMPLESHITHEAD replied:

    It’s interesting that you bring up the Greek meaning of logos. Logo is the name of an American LGBT cable television channel. Also, when I looked the word up on dictionary.com, there was a theological reference to Jesus Christ. Even religions have logos.

    And the idea of the swastika being four question marks [when flipped vertically or horizontally] was very clever. The fact that it’s always presented in the opposite direction is kinda interesting. It’s like even something as simple as a symbol is telling us not to question things.

    • alex robinson replied:

      Keep the questions coming Shane :)
      Leave no stone unturned or unquestioned – indeed it may well be the stones hold vast knowledge if only we knew how to hear.

      Cooked that curry yet?

  10. pso replied:

    The question marks is great.
    Remove the legs or feet and u have the crucifixion into the material world.

    If we stand still and listen, we might go places…

    • alex robinson replied:

      Hopefully we can go home or if that’s no longer an option then we can create a new one

  11. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Bravo! I like the extra spin on the sun symbol you gave it! Symbols should be played with anyways! Much like our symbolic-alchemical English language! Play away!!

    Good stuff Alex!

    Cheers

    • alex robinson replied:

      Thanks Michael – amazing what a little spinning & weaving can do :)

      I hope all is well in your world & that the neighbours are playing nicely!

  12. bettejv@gmail.combettejv@gmail.comizajean replied:

    weavers unite

  13. alex robinson replied:

    … & weave a way out :)

  14. tom cuddy replied:

    It begins at birth with pink or blue.
    A symphony of poetry directs us through,
    to where the logos spawns the seed,
    of characterless, conformist greed.

    Why not sing a song to branding?

    The 180 degree turn will walk us back
    through the same gauntlet.

    There to be “unbrandized”. HUH

    • alex robinson replied:

      Hi Tom
      I liked your poem!

      I didn’t understand your parting so searched & found:

      “In Egyptian mythology, Huh (also Heh, Hah, Hauh, Huah, Hahuh) was the deification of eternity in the Ogdoad, his name itself meaning endlessness… this deity is also known as the ‘god of millions of years’.”

      Sounds like he got very well branded!

      Brand = BARD + n perhaps we can turn it on it’s head – perhaps we can undo or ‘anti-dote’ these spells.

      All the best to you

  15. Beautiful Beasts of Burden « Star Theory replied:

    […] Robinson recently wrote an interesting post – S woz tricked here – on how effective branding (via a hot iron) is upon cattle. I wonder how many people would […]

  16. Pavman replied:

    Stiched up indeed, from chimpan-A to chimpan-Z. Growing up I watched grease many a time, would not have prepared me for this. I made a light hearted attempt to flush out a serious issue.

    Name one person that you may know that never watched Grease as its such an iconic film…

    oh my lord, i just saw the previous post Huh (also Heh, Hah, Hauh, Huah, Hahuh) YEAHHHH. Chorus from the song summer nights… Thats some crazy co-incidence is it not? my oh my :O

    • alex robinson replied:

      I have a history of very great stupidity, but Grease wasn’t one of my boasts – I never did understand what people liked about it so much.
      It’s always easy to stand back & feel smug about ‘the ones’ that didn’t ‘get you’ while maintaining complete idiocy & blindness about the ones that did – so KUDOS to you Pavman for going back to look & see something that mattered to you – I think you did a great job. Perhaps the ‘co-incidence’ is a little wink to you for taking that step.

      Good on ya mate!

  17. Embracing The Coming Fall « Star Theory replied:

    […] the nature of S-pi-N? For more on the “evil” branding (spin) of the swastika, check out S woz tricked here by Alex Robinson. Like a flash of lightning and in an instant the truth was revealed. I drew with a […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

