yours sin sear-ly

Desire, like the atom,

… is explosive with creative force

Oh thank christ for that”
you say,
after her last rampaging article
she’s finally seen the light
& …

unquestioning sex
is back on the menu.

Errr sorry . . . No.

Not on the menu in this place, at this time.

Please understand that the drugging of the west was not an attack on the human experience of sex – why would I do that when it’s been under attack for eons?

Christianity has enriched the erotic meal with the appetizer of curiosity and spoiled it with the dessert of remorse

I was simply wondering why we bought into the idea that we could achieve dimension-shaking sexual experiences via science, media driven obsession, detours into increasing deviancy & relentless discussion & dissection.

As shocking & painful as it may be for us in the West to contemplate,
sex is merely
one,
among many,
many,

many
universes
we need to inhabit.

Our cosmos shrank when …

we got wedded,

bedded,

&
imbedded
into one
small
three-lettered

wor(l)d.

Tell me, do you really still think it’s possible to find, what you were trained to seek in the arms, (or various body parts), of a lover?

Yet how is that possible, when you & I have been so well directed

… to eternally miss the target.

How (& where) on earth can the two sexes ever meet
when their tusky mind-sets are so …

chasmic?

The man’s desire is for the woman;

but the woman’s desire is rarely other than for the desire of the man

Only a man can be a woman the way a man wants a woman to be

the strongest sexual attraction may exist between persons so incompatible in tastes and capacities that they could not endure living together for a week much less a lifetime.~George Bernard Shaw

Due to this prefabricated incompatibility of the sexes, I think it best now to turn our attention towards more virtuous thoughts – I’m talking of course about the …

seven deadly sins

wrath
greed
sloth
pride
lust
envy
gluttony

Oh thank christ for that” you say, after the last rampaging article she’s finally seen the light & LUST is back on the menu …

Patience, patience

… let’s just watch a while & see what we can see.

Part of the reason we’re going to engage with these sins, is in order to ask why it was so necessary to terrify us away from them:

Those who had succumbed to lust were smothered in fire and brimstone; gluttons choked down rats, toads, and snakes; …

… the greedy were boiled in the finest oil. The slothful were pitched …

… into snake pits, while dismemberment awaited the wrathful. The envious faced submersion in freezing water, and the prideful …

… were broken on the wheel.

Why was it necessary to attach so much fear to these normal human ‘frailties’?

?

?

?

Unless of course they’re not frailties after all.

Is it possible that …

… they are strengths?

Let us ponder …

1. GREED

greedy O.E. grædig (West Saxon), gredig (Anglian) “voracious”.”

I want to start with greed because that’s where I started. I’m beginning to think that if we don’t restore our natural greed, we will not be able to build enough momentum …

… to reclaim our lost worlds.

I tell you I really, really struggled to get to the point where I could use the words “I” & “greed” in the same sentence, I would rather have been boiled in (the finest) oil – but once I got past the (apparent) shame, the going got a lot easier.

You see, I am greedy – greedy for life & experiences & then more life & more experiences & then more …

For the duration of this article (& beyond) I equate greed with the willingness to constantly receive into our lives …

… to hold & cherish, ALL that our hearts, minds & bodies have desired or called for(th).

A human being desires endlessly – it is our nature – I am finding that a good thing, a very good thing. Only a corpse has no hunger.

Look to nature if you fear greed.

How much space will an oak tree greedily claim?

And how much life does that greed feed?

How many fruit-children will one apple tree greedily produce?

And how much life does that feed?

2. WRATH

wrath O.E. wræððu “anger,” from wrað “angry”.

Introducing my new friend.

On top of the non-stop challenges so generously presented to me this year, came last week’s surprise visit by my landlord – declaring that the outside of the house needed ‘repairing’.

Really!! After 11 years you spotted that?

Under the guise of repair work, it turned out he was actually getting it ready to sell.

Enter wrath on day 3 of the tumultuous land-baron invasion. I’m not a violent or combative personality, but by god I was focused in fury last Friday. The upshot was one landlord asking for 5 minutes grace to give him time to get off the property.

I have rarely experienced such wonderful clarity of force – it was both scary & electric. I demanded my ‘space’ back & proper notice in writing – both of which I got.

Some time ago I attended an Aikdio seminar by a visiting Japanese sensei – what really impressed me was the powerfully decisive way this man stepped into an attack when necessary – the first principle of Aikido is avoidance, which is then followed by control & neutralization – but sometimes you have to step in.

I think that’s what wrath is about – a powerful emotion telling us that it’s time to step in & take back control.

Be still when you have nothing to say; when genuine passion moves you, say what you’ve got to say, and say it hot.”

Nature’s mothers understand wrath …

GLUTTONY

glutton – early 13c., from O.Fr. gluton … “overeater,” formed from gluttire “to swallow,” from gula “throat”.”

Oops now I’ve backed myself into a corner

gluttony = overeating” & we’ve been so very well-trained to despise …

… those lacking in such ‘self-control‘.

The rules are clear:

“We ‘CAN NOT’ have too much of a good thing”

Actually the rules aren’t that clear are they? For they say two opposing things.

Nevertheless we all know that too much of a good thing (gluttony) is a bad thing – right?

Well guess what, this article is the work of gluttony. When I write, I am a glutton – I am ravenous for time & space & ideas. Self-control has no home with me at such times.

A wondrous understanding of voracity came to me last week.

My 10 year old nephew ambushed me with a big hug, then the little bastard wouldn’t let go until I promised to come & watch his basket ball game. He knows I am a wicked auntie who does not like standing on sidelines watching sport. I gave in only under protest.

My god what a game it was – real sport, not for money, not for fame, but simply for the pleasure of the game.

And the game … well it centred on gluttony –

… for at no point did either team engage in self-control by claiming they had scored ‘enough’ goals.

All sport is based on gluttony …

… & sports are some of the most revered activities on this planet.

ENVY

envy (n.) late 13c., from O.Fr. envie “envy, jealousy, rivalry“.”

jealous early 13c … from Gk. zelos, sometimes “jealousy,” but more often in a good sense (“emulation, rivalry, zeal“)

a feeling of grudging or admiring discontent aroused by the possessions, achievements, or qualities of another … the desire to have for oneself something possessed by another

It’s amazing how long wise words will linger. Long, long ago I read some – the author suggesting that envy was a good thing, for it showed us what we want. That was the one & only time I have heard envy praised.

A few hours ago I went for a walk – an envy walk – I thought I’d better try out envy before I attempted to extol its virtues. I eyed up cars & houses & was getting the hang of it when I started to feel sick.

“Oh %*#!“, thought I, that wasn’t supposed to happen. “How can I extol the virtues of this ‘sin’ when it’s making me feel nauseous?

But all was not lost.

When I looked closely I saw I was forcing myself into prescribed‘ envy

… desiring things I’ve been ‘told‘ to desire – a new car, a nice house (not the footballer – he’s supposed to be looking enviously at my ‘villa’). Anyway when I cut out that non-sense, envy taught me very well indeed. That’s its job – to highlight what we want.

I saw that I wanted freedom – yes I want to live in a nice home, but not one I’m tied to – I found that I have NO desire to put down roots anymore – I’m a human being, not a tree, I want to be grounded, but not rooted.

Envy helped me recognise that.

SLOTH

sloth late 12c., “indolence, sluggishness,” … (see slow)”

slow (adj.) O.E. slaw “inactive, sluggish” … Meaning “taking a long time” is attested from early 13c

The three-toed sloth lives a peaceful, vegetarian life in perfect harmony with its environment. “A good-natured smile is forever on its lips” The Life of Pi – Yann Martel

The West is greatly afeared of slowness.

Yet when something is made by & with hand & heart it often takes …

… a very great deal of time.

In the West that is of course, a sin.

For time is money.

The ‘Devil’, we are told, ‘finds work for idle hands’.

Why is it so dangerous for us to have idle hands & time?

Slow, delicious, lazy time?

A research associate in England (Teresa Belton) made a study of school children after finding their ability to write creatively was startlingly ‘uninspired‘:

The tales tended to be very tedious and unimaginative,” Belton says, “as if the children were stuck with this very restricted way of thinking. Even when they were encouraged to think creatively, they didn’t really know how …

After monitoring the daily schedule of the children for several months, Belton came to the conclusion that their lack of imagination was, at least in part, caused by the absence of “empty time,” or periods without any activity or sensory stimulation.

While daydreaming has long been derided as a lazy, non-productive pastime, it is now commonly acknowledged that daydreaming can be constructive … There are numerous examples of people in creative or artistic careers, such as composers, novelists and filmmakers, developing new ideas through daydreaming. Similarly, research scientists, mathematicians and physicists have developed new ideas by daydreaming about their subject areas.

There is a term sometimes used at the Banzai Institute: The Three Bs, meaning the Bus, the Bath, and the Bed. That is where the greatest discoveries are made in science” – (from a movie).

Funny isn’t it, to think that without sloth we may become sluggish & impotent.

PRIDE

pride O.E. pryto, from prud (see proud) … The verb in the reflexive sense “congratulate (oneself)” is recorded from late 13c.”

“proud late O.E. prud … “brave, valiant.”

My friend from Nigeria has told me about the constant celebrations that were a part of his growing up – every month there was a celebration for one thing or another.

We, on the other hand celebrate ‘religiously’ twice a year, with a birthday thrown in for good behaviour.

celebrate mid-15c., from L. celebratus “much-frequented; kept solemn; famous,” pp. of celebrare “assemble to honor.”

Why do we not assemble to honour what truly matters to us?

After every article I publish I take myself to a cafe to celebrate – I’m not very good at it & my mind often wanders away from the reason I’m there, but somehow I feel the effort is very important.

Celebration recognises & completes our actions.

What we seem to have done in this bizarre civilisation is to hand our celebrations over to celebrity

… we exalt them instead of exalting our own lives & loves & creations.

How ridiculously silly is that?

LUST (at LAST)

lust (n.) O.E. lust “desire, pleasure

In M.E., “any source of pleasure or delight,” also “an appetite,” also “a liking for a person,” also “fertility” (of soil). Sense of “sinful sexual desire, degrading animal passion”… developed in late O.E. from the word’s use in Bible translations ...

… in other Germanic languages, the cognate words tend to still mean simply “pleasure.”

“lusty early 13c., from lust + -y … It largely has escaped the Christianization and denigration of its root word;

the original usage was “joyful, merry,” later …

full of healthy vigor” (late 14c)

Although I started with greed, I think the alpha/omega of the seven healing sins, is lust.

Fiery, energetic, passionate desire.

If you google image “desire” you will be herded back into the small three-lettered galaxy we started with. I’m attaching images to save you looking – I know there’s an appreciative audience out there.

But lust / desire is so much more than the chasmic world of sex.

Sex is included within lust, it is not the other way round – that’s not possible. For lust is both the desire for life & the desire within life.

Desire is half of life; …

... indifference is half of deathKahlil Gibran

What do you want a meaning for? Life is a desire, not a meaningCharlie Chaplin

A desire scorned and neglected is an enemy lying in wait with bared daggerAbraham Miller

Human behavior flows from three main sources: desire, emotion, and knowledgePlato

Quite a different perspective of the accepted view of “lust” appears when we stand further back & try using our own eyes.

Vanity, revenge, loneliness, boredom, all apply: lust is one of the least of the reasons for promiscuity

If we have lust for life, then ALL our worlds begin to …

…turn again, each working in harmony, each one building upon its neighbours. Then every world becomes passionate as it was always meant to be.

Well that’s what I think today.

This presentation has been brought to you by:
The Seven Deadly Sins Appreciation Society

Home of …

transgressions which are fatal to spiritual progress

Or are they?

August 25, 2011. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Alex!!!!

    I absolutely LOVE THIS!!! You’ve managed to recapture LIFE in this article!!

    Absolutely wonderous points! Once those 7 all important aspects of life were captured, and beaten into our minds as ‘bad and destructive’, it made it so much easier for those bastards to control and suck the life out of us, didn’t it??

    Indeed I was equating desire with hunger for more, and bringing more into my own life. Its no wonder we see chumps like Trump having everything they want out of life, but living their lives by these 7 points!

    Thanks for putting the correct viewpoint on these out there! SO helpful in breaking down barriers and walls. Out of the box and cells and into the Mother Creatrix folks, get creating!!

    Cheers

  2. Ed replied:

    This is one of the most heretical things I’ve ever read.

    Jokes aside, this is pretty awesome! Never knew Chaplin said that, makes me feel better about my abundant airheadedness.

  3. alex robinson replied:

    Thanks Michael, very glad to be able to bring some sin to your life – now just keep those seven cylinders firing!

    very best to you my friend

    Hi Ed
    So excommunication you reckon? Or perhaps I’ll get a job offer from the vatican in their marketing dept
    Don’t worry about air-headedness – without space in there you can’t create anything new – “Use the Air, Ed”

    cheers

  4. celticrebel replied:

    Thanks for reminding me why I have you on so frequently. :wink: This was box-shattering. Something new. Something few dare question, and then go so far as to turn and twist … and recreate. Lovely!

    Kid, Stay and snip your cord off,
    Talk and let your mind loose,
    Can’t all think like Chekov,
    But you’ll be O.K.

    Welcome to the Garden of Earthly Delights.
    This is your life and you do what you want to do,
    This is your life and you spend it all.
    This is your life and you do what you want to do,
    Just don’t hurt nobody,
    unless, of course, they ask you

    The above is from one of my old muses. Perhaps, other than the obvious, there is only one, as I’ve suggested, unpardonable sin. Denial of the self.

  5. raffi replied:

    excellent post, alex… so sin-tillating! the seven ‘deadly’ sins are quite accurately named. by hijacking the pure nature and context of these seven instincts, then vilifying them as unnatural and ‘evil’ is indeed deadly [never mind, evil]. it is deadly to our spirit, and ironically reinforces our materially-fixated and fear-based physical existence with which we imprison our true spiritual nature. in latin, sin translates to ‘without’, and in my opinion the ‘seven deadly withouts’ seems quite intuitive on reflection. withouts/sins fulfill the spiritual desire to truly live. it seems our INS-tinct (or sin-stinct) is becoming EX-tinct, including curiosity… after all, it did kill the cat ;)

  6. dennis replied:

    Iggy ,lust for life. Why do those priests of religion demand that we negate what is good and wholesome? Order over chaos. Too much fun and you have no time to be a machine or robot for the pttb. People just need to relax and live life to the fullest. Holy Ganga fire points to such activities? What a nice post for the synchromystic devil. Dennis

  7. Linnet replied:

    Hi Alex

    Lovely as always.

    Just wanted to comment that I must have read the same article on Envy – i had exactly the same response – slightly shocked yet appreciative of someone saying something so radical – it was a woman’s magazine, something like Cosmo or New Woman. I too have always remembered that article…funny!

    Linnet

    • alex robinson replied:

      mr rebel, I thank you – coming form you, that meant a lot.

      I enjoyed the lyrics & I think you’re right – ‘denial of self’ is unpardonable – we have a ‘no excuses’ duty & relationship to/with ourselves – we live or we become the undead.

      I wish you much sin

      Hi Raffi
      Well that’s interesting because Jesus cancels a stoning by saying let he who is without sin cast the first stone – so … is that a double negative then?

      I have a theory that it was “information” that killed the cat & it was curiosity that brought it back – facts are killers imho

      Now go forth & sin my son!

      Hi Dennis
      Yes always we are pressured to negate the wholesome – that’s why we have to question our ‘teachers’ – no matter how ‘great’ – if there is even a whiff of censure against that which strengthens us we have to tread very warily.

      All the best to you

      Ah Linnet
      That is most interesting – funny how that should have stuck in your mind too – don’t you just love good, wholesome thoughts from different angles.

      very best to you

  8. Joanne replied:

    Alex – I really like the idea of looking for the (dun-dun-dun) “positives” in the “negatives” of the so-called deadly sin(g)s. Reading this was actually a huge relief at the end of a very trying day – so thank you for that. I also love that you reward yourself after you finish an article – never occurred to me, not for my writing nor for my art work. I like that, and I think that’s a very fruitful habit for me to incorporate. Thanks so much for your comment on my new post too – sometimes I feel brushed off in this thing – for whatever reason – maybe women have to prove they have “balls” before they can be taken seriously. No matter where we are. I don’t know. But I have to say I value your input so much as everyone moves forward – in this thing – whatever we’re calling it today – because it really needs a woman’s touch – and not just any woman’s – someone with a delicate sensibility. It’s something to be treasured about your approach :] Loved the art you chose for this one too, btw! Take good care as always

  9. alex robinson replied:

    Thanks Joanne – & I really appreciate you noticing the (borrowed) art work – it takes a heck of a long time to find pics that ‘sing’ & then trying to find ones that aren’t ‘possessed’.

    There does seem to be (or feels to be) a ‘proving yourself’ feel to this domain – but way back when I got started I just got too excited & fidgety to keep still & await approval – so just blazed on in anyway. Do what lights you up – lots of people come to these watering holes but only a few leave a comment – never underestimate the power of a voice/heart expressed – you do this for yourself because in the expressing of it, you affirm your commitment to humanity & life & because of that something in you lives & breathes again.

    Now go forth & sin well my daughter

  10. Max replied:

    Alex, it’s really about time that you put a donation button on your web site.

  11. alex robinson replied:

    Max, at a time when I didn’t know what to do (& that’s a very powerful place to learn to be in), along come your words – thank you – I have taken your advice & will leave a donate button on my site for a while. It’s in taking steps to benefit ourselves, no matter what the outcome, that we begin & continue, to live.

    my thanks to you

  12. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Yes Alex, you should have a donate button on here. You do wonderful work.

    Cheers

  13. alex robinson replied:

    Thanks Michael, I sincerely appreciate your support as always

    Living tiki big thanks for your words of encouragement

    and muito obrigada to the celtic rebel for not only helping me get a donate button up & running, but also christening it.
    Beijos

  14. paulo replied:

    If i had a hat i would take it off to the wise lady :) Now you must complete the show trilogy alex :P Hugs without sin ….

    • alex robinson replied:

      Paulo you’re so pushy :)
      I’m sure I’ll be back some time in the future & we can discuss cheerier topics – like what makes you smile!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

