a little play

I’m currently working on article which may be my most important to date – a massively-tiny, securely-enclosed topic that requires the creation of a new focal point, in order to be able to see it.

Or at least that’s how I’m seeing it

In our lock-down world we need to create new paths. They are not going to come to us.

Creation, not death, is meant to be our “forte.

So while I jump from angle to angle & wrestle with lock-down logic, I thought I’d post some of the created images that hang on the walls of my home. Perfection as you will see, is absent.

But then creation never requires perfection.

Some years ago my son & I sat in our back yard & with a 20 minute deadline we each painted something that we could see.

This is what he painted. I’ll never forget what happened when I put his canvas into this gold photo frame just last year – it just came alive. One of anything is good, but when paired up with something quite different, magic can appear.

Another example of my then, young son’s work – he simply chose to paint what he saw on a page of a newspaper.

This is a copy of a print that my son had liked.  I didn’t have the money to buy it, so I painted a copy.  One day about four years ago, as he passed this painting in the hall, it fell to the floor & I recited something my mother used to say:

“What falls on the floor, comes through the door”. A couple of hours later a young stray cat appeared on our back door step.  She has been living with us ever since.

Fruit bowl with lemons & tomatoes

A copy of a painting showing NZ’s pilot Jean Batten, approaching the shores of NZ on one of her legendary flights.

This flower was the first result of a seven day commitment to creating something new each day.  My painting, which would be laughed out of any art gallery, led indirectly & yet directly, to a number of articles – starting here


Another re-creation for my son. From the age of 12, he had flying lessons roughly every 4 – 6 weeks. At the age of 16 he was able to fly solo – hence the aviation theme in these pics.

I love colour

Years ago, I visualised an orange tree laden with fruit as symbol for what I wished for in our lives,

Hey, I love colour

Tea, wine & random garlic clove

The road to the beach that my son & I accidentally discovered when we pulled off a main road in Hawaii.  One of our most treasured memories.

It can be so fucking good to pull off the main road
& go exploring …

May 12, 2012. Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Glad replied:

    Alex, as usual you provide a delicate but profound awakening…

  2. Michael Skaggs replied:

    Lovely!! Beautiful creations my friend! You SO very right, getting off the main road indeed leads to so many wonderful adventures. Thanks for sharing.

    Cheers

  3. Shane replied:

    So pretty, Alex! Keep creating!

    And I’ve never heard that saying before, actually- “What falls on the floor, comes through the door”. I like it. Makes me want to go around my home and intentionally make things fall, just to see what happens. :)

    As always, I hope you’re well.

  4. alex robinson replied:

    Glad, I thank you.

    Michael, shouldn’t you be out on a farm, in the presence wonderful company! :)
    Thanks my friend

    Haha Shane, maybe you should give it a go!
    Thanks for your words & wishes. My world is mad at the moment, lots of cracks appearing, but I think that’s the way for most people now – am thinking of getting a crowbar & helping those cracks along :]

    I hope all is well wild with you

  5. Lisabet replied:

    You have a gift with colour – they are vibrant and so full of life thank you for sharing!

  6. Kyle Collet replied:

    For those of us stuck in mental ruts this article reminds us to just get back to basics, be free from structure and just create. What we may think is silly now may open up a wonderful path of enlightenment in the future. Thanks enjoyed reading.

  7. maasanova replied:

    Very nice art. Inspiring…

  8. alex robinson replied:

    Many thanks Lisabet

    Cheers Kyle, it is like that, you you never know where some apparently tiny scrap of creating may take you – it is always worth the effort involved.

    Thanks maasanova

  9. tom cuddy replied:

    We, at times, get fixated on the quality of our efforts. Art is first for the artist. Creativity is the act of producing, doing, saying… The desert is called a wasteland. The word waste is identifying the unproductive and bringing it into usefulness. So says my present employers. I would reply if they would listen. Thank the powers that be, that those places were bypassed, saved, and forgotten to show the impact that all the so-called productive activities have wrought upon the earth.

    Ah, to create.

    Thanks

  10. alex robinson replied:

    tom, you are a god & ‘creation’ is your middle name – don’t let me interrupt your great works any further :]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

